I’m A Dabbler

confusionI’m a dabbler. I’ve dabbled in a lot of different things. For example, I took a course in writing short stories for children. It went so well that I took a course in writing a novel for children; never finished that one. Another time, I was looking for a flexible job that I could work around taking care of my children. I cleverly decided to become a real estate agent. The illusion of my flexibility quickly morphed into the reality that I needed to be available for my clients — whenever they needed. Thanks to Divine intervention, I was able to list and sell a home, with the help of another agent, within about a month of getting my license. I made about enough to cover my initial investment.

My oldest kids were in private school, then I homeschooled them for several years. Upon burn-out, we (husband and I) put them in public school.  Most recently, we pulled our youngest three to homeschool again. (I guess this is not so much dabbling as it is waffling. I’ll save this for another post.)

During the homeschool years, I helped with the homeschool newsletter for our local support group. It reminded me of the days that I spent on the newspaper staff at my college and then in the production department of the local newspaper. I loved the work, the sense of accomplishment and my co-workers. Eventually, email replaced the newsletter which left me missing writing and designing. Throughout my dabbling, whether it was 3-D photography (I still have the camera somewhere) or getting certified to have a therapy dog, I have always kept design in the back of my mind.

Despite having no true artistic skills, I began taking graphic design classes. Who knows when I will finish, but the classes have introduced me to all current aspects of design. I can use Photoshop to fix a badly damaged photo I found face-down on the concrete basement floor. Illustrator helped me create the tag  I used above. I can look at a webpage I designed and realize that I remember absolutely nothing about the coding I did. InDesign proved useful in creating a magazine layout. Where do I fit in with such a diversified field? It requires expertise, not dabblers.

Perhaps blogging is the answer for me. I can bounce from topic to topic as the mood strikes. Right now I’m in the mood to watch some videos I put together. Yes, I dabbled in YouTube. Search for: Lushn, to see what I did there.

 

About bjgr12

I want to be better than  I am, and I would like to help someone else be better than they were. Who knows what will happen, but it might be fun.
This entry was posted in Art, family, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

