This is Momsome!

School is rapidly spinning into view, and with it many more opportunities for momsome moments. (I think I like the idea of saving definitions for the end. It’s there.) My kids will be escaping the house and the drudgery of doing chores more than once a day. For myself, I’m looking forward to starting two more college classes. It really is too bad that one of them I signed up for was not what I thought it was.

If you have read my recently updated “About” page you will understand why I am really not interested in taking a class that focuses on the “health concerns of college students”. I intended to take a class that would help me design a personalized fitness program using weight machines in the college gym. (This I could have benefitted from.)

In my zeal to find a class that I could take while my youngest child is at day care, I failed to notice the title change on the class as I scrolled through the possible days and times.  –This reminds me of a family trip in which we went the wrong direction for many miles before the error was detected. My father sadly commented, “And we were making such good time, too.” — Fortunately, I discovered my mistake before classes began. I am now happily enrolled in an on-line health class that will discuss such things as exercise without my having to strain a single muscle.

Is this incident momsome? I think so.

Here’s another one; from last year. One of my sons missed the school bus. I drove him to the school and pulled into the line of cars filled with students waiting to get close enough to the building to climb out. The principal stood at the head of the line, helping kids cross the street and motioning the emptied cars on their way. My son and I chatted as we inched our way forward. It seemed to take forever. Finally, I reached the front of the line and waved pleasantly to the principal as I drove past, to which I suddenly heard, “Mom, what are you doing!”

I sheepishly pulled back to the curb and let him out. Definitely momsome!

I would love to hear about more momsome moments. (Dads, I refuse to call your experiences mansome, but dadsome doesn’t have the same ring.)

Momsome – form of the word awesome, performed by a mom. This must include some ridiculous and/or embarrassing action on the part of the mother that does not impede the intended outcome. (I was introduced to this term by my son on an event similar to the ones mentioned above.)

About bjgr12

I want to be better than  I am, and I would like to help someone else be better than they were. Who knows what will happen, but it might be fun.
This entry was posted in family, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

