A Curtain By Any Other Name

Does this happen to you? I walked into the MPR (see definition at the end of this post) and screeched … no, not screeched, that sounds too harsh…. questioned, “Who knocked the curtain down?”

I used the term “curtain” loosely. If we hadn’t run out of money before we ran out of important things to buy for our new house, it would have been an actual curtain. What we, in fact, have is a set of sheets hung on a dowel rod. The rod is capped with rubber leg tips, just like the ones you find on the end of metal chair legs in elementary school.

 http://pinksherbet.com/

This is a pleasing shade for a rose.

My husband and his sister came up with this inexpensive solution to our privacy problems. I chose the color, a pleasing shade of rose. After determining the appropriate length for the curtain, my husband lugged out the sewing machine and stitched the rod pocket on each sheet. The unneeded length of sheet hung unceremoniously below the stitching. I later learned to flip this extra piece back over the rod, toward the window, to create a more finished look.

Back to the curtain, lying askew on the floor: Where was that stylish curtain rod? The missing rod eliminated the possibility that the dog had knocked it down by pushing her nose between the panels once too often. I know that I didn’t do it. This left only the kids as possible suspects. They probably careened into the curtain, knocking it to the ground; then happily scooped up the rod to use as a light saber or some other equally lethal weapon.

It was more important, however, that I find the rod than the doer of the taking.  We didn’t want to be in the equivalent of a large fish bowl as neighbors drove by in the evening. Upon locating the wayward dowel, I returned to thread it through the curtain.

What a sight met my eyes as I raised the curtain to align it with the rod! It was filthy, with a capital F-I-L-T-H-Y.  A lot of that grime I could blame on the dog and her curious wet nose. So off I went to the washer, and a few hours later (I got distracted) I hung the rose sheets with their rubber leg tipped dowel rods on the window. What the heck, I think I’ll call them curtains. After all, they’ve been fading there for 17 years.

http://bestclipartblog.com/

MPR: piano, violins, trumpets, computer desk, book shelf, catch-all table, dining room chandelier; all becomes the multi purpose room… for lack of a better name.

About bjgr12

I want to be better than  I am, and I would like to help someone else be better than they were. Who knows what will happen, but it might be fun.
This entry was posted in Art, family, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

