Sand Art

Kseniya Simonova is a Ukrainian artist and winner of an “America’s Got Talent” style show. Her talent? Sand art. But this is sand art like I have never seen before. She “paints” with sand and her images are stunning.

Kseniya ‘s performance for the show is a series of images set to music titled the Great Patriotic War . Swift confident motions shape the sand-strewn screen into a landscape. Soon she adds a woman, close to the viewer. Now She takes some sand in her hand and “draws” the features of the face. She knows just how much sand to let fall from her hand to create the effect she wants. I watched in amazement when she wiped away incredible artwork as quickly as she had created it, only to produce another, just as wondrous.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h1XgDkyu9cw&feature=player_embedded

I thought I would summarize the story of her life, but it is filled with family, art, knowledge. To summarize it would not give it the justice it deserves. You can read about her life here: http://simonova.tv/en/story/

About bjgr12

I want to be better than  I am, and I would like to help someone else be better than they were. Who knows what will happen, but it might be fun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sand Art

  1. Wow, this is so neat! Thanks for sharing. I cannot imagine the talent, time, and patience it takes to create such beautiful artwork. I’ve just started watching America’s Got Talent, I really loved the first show of the season with the guy who had an Earth Harp, cooliest instrument I have ever seen!! The show really goes beyong singing and dancing talent, it shows how creative people can be.

  2. Wow. Thanks for sharing, she’s amazing! The fact that she just used her hand, sand, and maybe one tool is crazy. Plus, the speed in which she makes the paintings is incredible. I assume she thinks and sketches ideas of what she wants to draw and then moves on to sand.

  3. This work is stunning… What a powerful performance and her story is captivating. Fantastic find, Barbara! I want to read more about her when I get more time – it looks like she does some extraordinary charity work, as well. Very inspirational!

  4. Pingback: Whispering Sands of Kseniya Simonova « Fitztopia

Share your thoughts

