Defining moments in Design

I had many hopes as I prepared for this blog entry. I decided to pick one of the artists from the course listing and write something insightful and interesting about the work. I clicked one of the names, browsed the site for a while and then clicked another name, and then another and another. The volume and variety of works soon had me overwhelmed and questioning my very understanding of what graphic design is.

I decided to take a different approach. It seemed my understanding was too narrow.  I looked up the definition of graphic design. Dictionary.com says “The practice or profession of designing print or electronic forms of visual information, as for an advertisement, publication, or website.” I felt vindicated for a moment. But, as expected, there was much more to read about graphic design and its definition. I clicked on a site that will quickly become my favorite site : (next to Lydia.com) designtalkboard.com.

Specifically, I came to an article titled, “What is graphic design?” From it I learned that I am not alone. They have included five definitions to cover the wide variety of ideas concerning design. Dictionary.com is number 3. Jessica Helfand – AIGA defines it this way: “Graphic design is a popular art and a practical art, an applied art and an ancient art. Simply put, it is the art of visualizing ideas.” The article invites us to join in the discussion; choosing which one seems to fit best, or adding our own ideas. Unfortunately, the links to join did not work. I emailed the site to try to resolve the issue and will update here when I get a response

 

As a result of this investigation, I am ready to look at these artists in a new way.

What can I learn from them that I can use in my own simple dictionary.com way?

I’ll let you know.

About bjgr12

I want to be better than  I am, and I would like to help someone else be better than they were. Who knows what will happen, but it might be fun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Defining moments in Design

  1. I went to the article you listed, and liked this definition the best: “The process and art of combining text and graphics and communicating an effective message in the design of logos, graphics, brochures, newsletters, posters, signs, and any other type of visual communication. Today’s graphic designers often use desktop publishing software and techniques to achieve their goals.”

    Explaining graphic design can be tough. It’s also hard to explain to my friends/family what my degree in Interactive Media will mean and what kinds of things I”ll do. To me, graphic design is using tools/software to make edits or bring in multiple pieces of work to create a new image or brand.

Share your thoughts

